A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Posted January 14, 2018 by Curly Carla in CC's Science Fiction vs Fantasy Bingo 2018, Goodreads Challenge, Reviews, Series I am reading / 1 Comment

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. MaasTitle: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Release Date: May 5th 2015
Genres: Action and Adventure, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 432
Format: Kindle Book
Reading Challenges: CC's Goodreads Reading Challenge, CC's Science Fiction vs Fantasy Bingo 2018
Find it: AmazonGoodreads
My rating: five-stars

Blurb:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Review:

I got this book as a Christmas gift from Theresa Kay and I LOVED it! It had everything I was in the mood for.

Feyre has such a depth of character paired with a great balance of internal and external conflict. The magic aspect blends well with the action and romance and I just loved the plot. It wasn’t over the top and had just the right amount of court intrigue to keep my attention without being too complicated. Honestly it reminded me of The Chronicles of Amber series by Roger Zelazny but heavier on the romance.

I will say that the info dump 2/3 in was a major bummer for me and I almost DNF’f it for that alone, but then I heard Lenore in my head saying, “but what if it gets better?” and I knew I had to finish it.  Once Fayre got under the mountain the pacing picked up big time and I zoomed through the last end of it.  And holy hell did Fayre go through some serious trauma.  I especially enjoyed the unexpected kindness of Rhysand.  I kept wondering when he was going to show his true colors but that comes through in the next book. 😉

I liked Tamlin well enough but there was something I felt missing from his character. I confess to liking Lucien the most in this one.  Fayre’s capability to feel love after her loveless upbringing is very heartwarming and hopeful, making this book a fantastic start to a great series.

This book satisfies my #SFvsFBingo reading challenge. I think I’ll put this in the immortality space.

Tags: ,


One response to “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. lenoreo

    Mwahahaha…always in your head!! Glad this one was such a hit for you chickie…I do want to pick it up eventually…

Leave a Reply