Honesty by Seth King

Posted June 8, 2018 by lenoreo in Book Bonanza 2018 Authors, Reviews / 3 Comments

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Honesty by Seth KingTitle: Honesty
Author: Seth King
Published by: Indie
Release Date: February 29th 2016
Format: Kindle Book
Pages: 291
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Find it: AmazonB&NIndieBoundGoodreads
My rating: dnf

Blurb:

A radiant story of first love and self-acceptance for fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell

“Maybe we weren’t meant to collide. Maybe we were meant to explode.”

As a closeted teenager in the Deep South with a holy-roller father and the scars to prove it, bookworm Cole Furman has resigned himself to experiencing life and love only within the pages of his favorite novels. But after Nick Flores seems to walk off a page and starts to rewrite his story, Cole finds his dreams spinning into a dazzling – and complicated – reality.

If you have ever found yourself on the wild breathless thriller ride that is young love, Honesty will rip you back again in screaming color.

My Review:

DNF @ 7% — OK, I’ll be honest.  That 7% makes me feel really guilty.  This one had some great highlight-worthy lines, but I also fell asleep and had a hard time focusing on it…in the FIRST 7%.  Not a great start.  Sometimes there are books that aren’t style fits, and I found it hard to focus on Cole’s inner musings.  I also already noticed repetitiveness.  So then I glanced at some other lower reviews of the book (which there aren’t many, so take my review with a HUGE grain of salt…like a salt lick), and they mentioned the repetitiveness and slowness as well, so I knew it was unlikely to get better as the book went on.  I was also a bit wary of the type of story this was going to be, and while LOTS of people love stories with drama and angst and complications, I’m hit or miss with it.  And just from reading the lower reviews, I have a strong suspicion I would be in the lower rating category, so I figured I would save myself time…  Maybe I’ll try again some day, but likely not.

As with so many of my DNFs, this is just a reader/author mismatch.  I can be super picky sometimes, and after having just given another angsty read a longer try and still DNFing, I’m jumping the gun early this time.  I just have too much to read in a short span of time.  *shrugs*  Bummer too, b/c this was one of the reads I was counting on for my diversity challenge.  🙁

Tags: , , , , ,


3 responses to “Honesty by Seth King

  1. Hmm…I have this one in paperback. I haven’t picked it up. I’ll have to try it soon to see if I feel the same way about it! Thanks for giving us your feelings.

    • lenoreo

      I hope you have better luck! I know so many people who loved it, it bums me out when I’m just not feeling it.

  2. Carla Waluck

    I feel ya on the guilt after such a short percentage. Sometimes it’s just not a good fit.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.